DVC speech & debate team – Northern California Forensics Association 1st place overall champions

DVC speech & debate team – Northern California Forensics Association 1st place overall champions

Over the last three years the DVC”s speech and debate team (also known as forensics) has become the most dominant team in northern California. This last weekend the 40+ person team won their 3rd consecutive NCFA Championship, crowning DVC the undisputed champions of NorCal.

The DVC community college students defeated students from UC Berkeley, the University of the Pacific and many other universities and community colleges. Not only didDVC win overall as a team by almost double the next closest team’s score, but many individual students were named champions in their specific events.

The forensics team competes in a wide range of events, each emphasizing different communication and critical thinking skills, and displayed excellence across all of them. This northern California championship is also a great opportunity for alumni to come out to support the team. Multiple alumni of the forensics team, across multiple eras of the teams illustrious history, helped serve as judges for the tournament and offer words of wisdom as the students head into competition. 

Below is a list of the team’s accomplishments from the NCFA Championship. Send your support to the team as they head off to State and Nationals, or consider joining the team next fall by enrolling on COMM 163 or emailing rhawkins@dvc.edu for more information.

Robert Hawkins

Director of Forensics

Diablo Valley College: Northern California Forensics Association 1st Place Overall Champions (x3 Peat)

Open Duo Interpretation

1st Chris Pratt and Matt Denny
2nd Sydney Alexander And Nicole Sims
3rd Nicole Sims and Matt Denny 
4th Vegas Darst-Horn And Justin Crawford

Open Dramatic Interpretation

1st Nicole Sims
2nd Chris Pratt
3rd Justin Crawford
4th Miranda Hansen

Open Informative Speaking

1st Cierra White

Open After Dinner Speaking

1st Nicole Sims

Open Persuasive Speaking

5th Cierra White

Open Communication Analysis

3rd Miranda Hansen

Open Prose

3rd Miranda Hansen
5th Vegas Darst-Horn

Open Program Oral Interpretation

2nd Sydney Alexander

Student Fellowship Award Winner

Nicole Sims

Overall Speaker

2nd Place Nicole Sims

Junior Varsity Parliamentary Debate

3rd Place Eric Tubbs and Gabriel Zimmerman

JV Parliamentary Debate Speaker

2nd Place Gabriel Zimmerman
9th Place Eric Tubbs 

Novice Extemporaneous Speaking

1st Gabriel Zimmerman 

Novice Program Oral Interpretation

1st La La Miller
2nd Elva Gonzales

Novice Persuasive Speaking

1st Anastasia Tejada
2nd Ariel Tonessi

Novice Informative Speaking

2nd Sarah Richards 
4th Haley Burr

Novice Prose Interpretation

2nd La La Miller
3rd Layla Keshavarz-Fard
5th Yuya Shimbori

Novice Poetry Interpretation

2nd Paola Lopez

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.